Thread: Neural Networking

Thanks
    Thanked 1,068 Times in 380 Posts

Neural Networking

So there's a Russian chap on Github who's working on using neural network machine learning for audio processing. He's starting with noise removal and he's still got a long ways to go. But knowing what self-taught machines have accomplished recently in other areas like playing championship chess and Go, identifying habitable planets and looking for SETI signals, I remain confident that someday - maybe even in my own lifetime, a computer will be able to take a B- audience recording of Jimi and make it sound like an EX+ sound board. I'm going to contact this Russian programmer and ask him to keep that goal in mind!

2. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Roland Stone For This Useful Post:

Thanks

Re: Neural Networking

Don't get your hopes up too high; audio restoration is incredibly complex and neural networks are just very powerful statistics tools. They are no silver bullet for everything, but always trained on one very specific problem. Audio restoration is not one but many different problems: wow & flutter removal, EQ matching, reverb removal, demixing, rolloff/harmonic excitation, de-distortion, dropouts reconstruction and so on... Now there already are tools for all of these issues, but few work without a lot of user input and many are in their infancy. I'm sure neural networks could improve each of these disciplines individually. I just don't expect an all-purpose audio restoration network for quite a while, at least two more decades. For some cool neural network audio action check out ISSE: http://isse.sourceforge.net/

4. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to hendrixfan1995 For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Thanked 1,068 Times in 380 Posts